2016 National Poetry Series Winners Announced: UGA Press to Publish Winning Collection by Chelsea Dingman


Chelsea Dingman (photo credit: PJ Agostini)

The National Poetry Series has announced the results of the 2016 Open Competition. The University of Georgia Press will publish Chelsea Dingman’s winning collection, Thaw. The winning books are scheduled for publication in 2017.

Dingman is completing her MFA and teaches in the University of South Florida Graduate Program. She is originally from British Columbia, Canada, and has lived in four countries and countless cities in North America. She currently resides in Tampa, Florida, with her husband and two small children.

In addition to Dingman, the full list of winners include:

I Know Your Kind
William Brewer of Brooklyn, NY
Chosen by Ada Limon for Milkweed

For Want of Water
Sasha Pimentel of El Paso, TX
Chosen by Gregory Pardlo for Beacon Press

Civil Twilight
Jeffrey Schultz of Los Angeles, California
Chosen by David St. John for Ecco

Sam Sax of Austin, TX
Chosen by Terrance Hayes for Penguin Books

The National Poetry Series was established in 1978 to ensure the publication of poetry books annually through participating publishers. More than 185 books have been awarded since the Series’ inception.

For more information, please contact:

The Coordinator
The National Poetry Series
57 Mountain Avenue
Princeton, NJ 08540
Phone: 609.430.0999 Fax: 609.430.9933

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s